graph

BACKGROUND

In 2014, the human race set a new record when high-tech waste reached 41.8 million tonnes, according to a United Nations University (UNU) report. The institution also reported that less than one sixth of this waste was properly recycled. This waste is an urban goldmine of vast quantities of recyclable materials, including several precious metals such as copper, gold and platinum.  

Learn more >

But above all, ‘e-waste’ is a toxic mine. The estimation of hazardous components contained in waste is 2.2 million tonnes for 2014 alone. Among these hazardous components, we find mercury, cadmium and chrome. Closer to home, in Canada, a great deal of effort is being made and several programs enable both consumers and businesses to dispose of their ‘e-waste’ properly.
All joint efforts enable nearly 40% of electronic and computer waste to be collected and disposed of, whilst respecting the environment. This means that more than 60% of ‘e-waste’ is still found today in landfill sites.
1
 

GOALS OF THE ECO-GREEN PROGRAM

Convince the public and businesses to recycle their high-tech waste instead of sending it to the landfill, through incentives, advertising campaigns, recycling events and other unique measures.

2
   

Ensure that each part of every device is reused to its maximum potential. Intelligent recycling also means upgrading, reusing and remarketing parts or devices that are still serviceable.

THE ECO-GREEN RECYCLING SEQUENCE

When devices are received at our recycling plant, they are first sorted and separated by category. Each product category must be processed in a specific way by qualified staff.

Let’s take the example of an office computer to illustrate Green Computer’s processing and recycling sequence. A customer brings a computer to one of our collection points. We then send it to our recycling facility, where a worker places the computer in a bin for that type of product. Once that bin is full, it is sent to a disassembly station where a computer specialist disassembles each computer into 12 to 16 different components. More than half of these components are then sent to testing stations to verify that they are still operational and to check their performance.

 
icons

Once the tests have been completed, defective parts are sent to processing plants for materials recycling. Some defective parts, such as hard drives, are sent to repair stations where we have achieved a success rate of better than 60%. Repaired parts are then sent to upgrading stations.

icons

Parts in working order are sent directly to upgrade stations for final preparation. The upgrade station cleans, classifies, packages and prepares for resale parts that have successfully passed operating and performance tests. All upgraded parts will be reused in the computer market.

NOW THIS IS INTELLIGENT RECYCLING!

What the Eco-Green program ensures:

  • Recycling operations that respect the environment;
  • Sorting and disassembly of parts by qualified staff;
  • Final destruction of hard-drive data, with certificate;
  • Upgrading of parts that are still serviceable;
  • Recovery of raw materials from non-reusable parts.

Eco news

opening

RESULTS OF THE 2015 RECYCLO-THON FOR LEUCAN MAURICIE-ET-CENTRE DU QUÉBEC

Published on May 20, 2015

We are pleased to confirm that the event held this past Saturday, May 16, at our four collection points (Carrefour Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Galeries du Cap, Plaza de la Mauricie and Grande Place des Bois-Francs) was a success right down the line! Several tonnes of computers and electronic devices are now being recycled instead of ending up in the landfill as household waste. Four 53-foot trailers were filled over the course of the day. As promised, the profits from recycling these materials will be donated to Leucan. Green Computer will write a cheque for $4,886.50 to help improve services available to sick children.

The grand prize of a $2,000 travel credit was drawn this morning in the presence of Leucan Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec representative Ms. Carol Beaudry and Mr. Martin Magny, official spokesperson for Recyclo-thon 2015. The winner is a contributor who brought merchandise to the Victoriaville collection point. This person’s name will be officially announced this weekend and photos of the event will be unveiled.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank our generous sponsors once again, as well as all our media partners and the volunteers and citizens involved, who all helped make this event a success.

We eagerly look forward to the 2016 edition of Recyclo-Thon!

Where and how to recycle

OUR COLLECTION POINTS

Consumer

Where to bring my hardware for recycling

Enterprise

Become a collection point
Plan a collection




Institution - OSBL

Organize a recycling activity for your fundraising

graph

Mise en situation

L’Être humain à établis un nouveau record du monde en 2014 alors que le poid des ‘’e-déchets’’ a atteint 41.8 millions de tonnes selon un rapport de l’Université des Nations unies (UNU). Moins d’un sixième de ces déchets ont étés correctement recyclés souligne aussi l’UNU. Ces déchets constitue une précieuse mine urbaine grâce aux larges quantités de matières recyclable dont plusieurs métaux précieux comme le cuivre, l’or et le platine.  

En savoir plus >

 
Mais par-dessus tout, les ‘e-déchets’ constitue une mine toxique alors que l’estimation de composants dangereux contenus dans les déchets de l’an 2014 seulement seraient de 2.2 millions de tonnes. Parmi ces composants dangereux, nous retrouvons le mercure, le cadmium et le chrome entre autre. Plus près de nous, au Canada, de grands efforts sont déployés et plusieurs programmes permettent aux consommateurs comme aux entreprises de disposer adéquatement de leurs ‘e-déchets’.
Tous les efforts conjoints permettent de récupérer près de 40% des déchets électroniques et informatiques et d’en disposer dans le respect de l’environnement. C’est donc dire que plus de 60% des ‘e-déchets’ se retrouve encore aujourd’hui dans les sites d’enfouissements.
1
 

Les objectifs du programme Éco-Vert

Convaincre la population et les entreprises de recycler leurs ‘e-déchets’ au lieu de les jeter par le billet d’incitatifs, de campagnes publicitaires, d’organisation d’évènements de recyclage et d’autre mesures uniques.

2
   

S’assurer que chaque pièce de chaque appareil est réutilisée au meilleur de ses capacités. Le recyclage intelligent, c’est aussi revaloriser, réutiliser et remettre en marché des pièces ou des appareils qui ont encore une durée de vie utile.

Le cycle de recyclage Éco-Vert

Lors de la réception d’appareils à notre usine de recyclage, un premier tri est effectué afin de regrouper les produits par catégorie. Chaque catégorie de produit doit être traité de façon spécifique et par du personnel qualifié.

Prenons pour fin d’exemple un ordinateur de bureau afin d’illustrer le processus de traitement et de recyclage Éco-Vert. Un client apporte son ordinateur dans un de nos points de collecte. La marchandise est ensuite acheminée à notre usine de recyclage ou un ouvrier place l’ordinateur dans le bac correspondant au produit. Une fois le bac plein, il est acheminé vers une station de démontage ou un spécialiste informatique va démonter chaque ordinateur en 12 à 16 composantes distinctes. Plus de la moitié de ces composantes seront acheminés vers des stations de test afin de vérifier leurs états de fonctionnement et leurs performances.

 
icons

Une fois les tests complétés, les pièces défectueuses seront acheminé aux recyclages des matières vers des usines de transformation. Certaines pièces défectueuses, comme les disques durs, sont acheminées vers nos stations de réparation ou notre taux de réussite est de plus de 60%. Les pièces réparées sont envoyée aux stations de revalorisation.

icons

Les pièces fonctionnelles sont envoyées directement aux stations de revalorisation pour la préparation finale.La station de revalorisation permet de nettoyer, classer, emballer et préparer pour la revente les pièces ayant passé avec succès les tests de fonctionnement et de performance. Toutes les pièces revalorisées seront réutilisées sur le marché informatique.

Voilà le recyclage intelligent!

Ce que vous assure le programme Éco-Vert:

  • Des opérations de recyclage effectuées dans le respect de l’environnement
  • Le tri et le démontage des appareils effectués par du personnel compétent
  • La destruction finale et garantie des données du disque dur
  • La revalorisation des pièces ayant encore une durée de vie utile
  • La récupération des matières premières non réutilisables

Nouvelles éco

opening

Résultat du RECYCLO-THON 2015 au profit de Leucan Mauricie-et-Centre du Québec

Publié le 20 mai 2015

Il nous fait plaisir de vous confirmer que l’événement s’étant déroulé ce samedi 16 mai dans nos quatre points de collecte (Carrefour Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Galeries du Cap, Plaza de la Mauricie et Grande Place des Bois-Francs) a été un succès sur toute la ligne! Plusieurs tonnes de produits informatiques et électroniques sont désormais en processus de recyclage plutôt que d’avoir pris le chemin de l’enfouissement avec les autres déchets domestiques. Quatre remorques de 53 pieds ont ainsi été remplies tout au long de cette journée. Tel que convenu, les profits tirés du recyclage de ces matières auront été versés à Leucan. Ainsi, un chèque d’un montant de 4886.50$ sera remis par Ordivert afin de contribuer à améliorer les services offerts aux enfants malades.

Le grand prix d’un crédit voyage de 2000$ a été tiré ce matin en présence de madame Carol Beaudry, représentante de Leucan Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec et monsieur Martin Magny, porte-parole officiel du Recyclo-thon 2015. La personne gagnante est une contributrice étant venue porter de la marchandise au point de collecte de Victoriaville. Le dévoilement officiel du nom et les photos de circonstances auront lieu ce week-end.

Je profite de l’occasion pour remercier à nouveau nos précieux commanditaires, tous nos partenaires médias ainsi que tous les bénévoles et citoyens impliqués qui ont contribué à faire de cet événement une réussite.

Vivement l’édition 2016 du Recyclo-Thon!

Où et comment recycler

Nos points de collecte

Consommateur

Où apporter mon recyclage

Entreprise

Devenir un point de collecte
Planifier une collecte




Institution - OSBL

Organiser une activité de recyclage pour votre financement